Look at the name of this blog. It is called “Rational
Stupidity” If rational is looked up in Webster’s the definition reads;
Ra-tion-al (adjective)
1. Reasonable
and sensible
a. Governed
by, or showing evidence of, clear and sensible thinking and judgment, based on
reason rather than emotion or prejudice
2. Able
to think clearly and sensibly
a. Unimpaired
by physical or mental condition, strong emotion, or prejudice
Well I could go on
and on but you get my drift. Can stupidity be rational? Stupidity is a lack of
intelligence, perception, or common sense. So how can stupidity be rational?
Hence the name of this blog, there is no rational stupidity because stupid is
not rational. I know, you are thinking this is an English lesson, but bear with
me I have some bitching to do and I think you will get my point. In fact, if
you don’t then I may be the stupid one here.
Case in point, my sister-in-law,
and her heart problem. I am going to call it as I see it here folks and tell
you the company she works for, but for her privacy, I will not say where (Virginia)
ahem. She has had some problems with shortness of breath, arm pain and
indigestion, yet because she has a medical bill she has been paying on she has
not wanted to go to the doctor. She is single and makes very little over
minimum wage, so a bill that she pays $50 a month towards is a big deal to her.
She finally went to the doctor where they found a blockage and she will need to
have a stent placed in an artery. Of course those sweet little assholes that
work in billing paid her a nice visit as she lay in her bed and told her they
wanted the money paid straight forward for the bill she already has. She has
only the one by the way and what started as a $1000 bill is now down to $150. They
are such fucking idiots I wish I could have been there. I get angry just
thinking about it. Of course, my reaction would not be considered rational, but
would be considered stupid by some.
My sweet sister in
law is a straight-laced law abiding citizen and would not break the law if she
were held at gunpoint, so I am sure she thinks if she does not pay right away,
she will be dragged into court. Did I say they are fucking idiots?
The company she
works for will not let her use the vacation time she has accumulated and has
instead placed her on a temporary medical leave. You know that a medical leave
does not pay your full wages instead coming in at around 66% roughly. Well hers
does anyways. She works for Shell at a gas station/convenience store and makes
little money and no overtime. You can see the conundrum here right? Shell CEO’s
make millions in bonuses every year and the Shell Oil Company makes BILLIONS in
profits every fucking year raping the American public and now I know how they
do it. By not giving the first hint of a shit about the people who work for
them. So remember the oil company as my sister in law tries to make ends meet
working for a Shell backed franchise.